Thoughts on what’s next

I have finished the advent project for my blog/journal and now it is time for a next project or goal. Mostly what I have been writing so far has been completely off the cuff, no prework, out line, or advance thought other than “this is the topic”. I would like try something else. I think I can get my ideas and thoughts out better than I have been in this free writing style. I also need some writing goals.

Since my writing seems to fall into one of two categories, I am going to try to write twice a week. At the beginning of the week I will attempt to write something of a spiritual nature. At the end of the week I will try to write something that address a topic that is near and dear to my heart, mental illness or as I like to think of it, mental health. While often times these topics can and do combine into a message that is beneficial to both audiences, I would like to have the intention to be more focused.

If this blog is the precursor of my next door opening, from a spiritual perspective, I think it will do good to place more energy into what it is I am putting in here. I have purposefully placed myself in “the hallway” as I am shifting from one spiritual experience to the next. I knew it was time to shift from what I was currently doing but wasn’t sure what the next step would be. At about that same time, I was nudged into the 30 day gratitude project and that went very well. It is the first time I had written every day for that long in a very long time. It was also the first time I had made a true gratitude journal. I tried a different take and shied away from a daily list of things I was thankful for and tried to talk about specific things/people everyday that were important. I enjoyed the experience enough to tell myself that I wished more people were exposed to what it was that I was trying to do. I moved from another blog site to this one and I immediately had people outside of my social circle reading or following my words. This made me happy, not from a narcissistic self promotion standpoint but that people were reading what I had to say and enjoying the experience. It felt good.

I hope that what I have to offer is enjoyable or useful to those that have or will find my words. I am enjoying sharing them and hope to continue to do so.

Brightest blessings on this joyous holiday week.

Namaste

Rev J

Leave a Reply

