Blogging 101: About Me

Blogging 101 Day 1 assignment: Who am I and Why am I Blogging

Well, my name is Jason. Simple enough I suppose. A bit about me. I am 46 years old and recovering from Bipolar Disorder and Generalized Anxiety as well as a few other odd things thrown in for good measure. I say recovering because I am not suffering. I am getting better and that is part of the why. I am also an independently ordained interfaith minister. That is the other part of the why. I have an about section that talks a bit more, well, about me.

https://ravenwoodspirit.wordpress.com/about/

I began blogging or journaling as part of my treatment plan way back when. It was online but private, mostly brain dumps. During that time I took up these annual 30 gratitude challenges. Usually they look something like a list of things I was thankful for everyday. This year I did it differently. I took each day to write about something or someone specific. I posted links on my facebook page, mainly as a way of motivating myself to follow through. If my friends see day 1, 2 and 3, they might notice if 4 is missing. I don’t know if that was at all accurate in thinking but it worked. Some of my friends followed that blog but it never got any views from the site that I was working on.

Once I finished that project, I started thinking, do I have a story to share? The answer was yes. Between my spirituality and the journey that I have taken with mental illness I felt like I had something to say. I took another minor challenge to get me started and I switched to WordPress. I have been here a month or so. My goals are to write something of a spiritual nature at the first of the week and cover topics about mental wellness or mental health at the end of weeks, posting in between if the mood or need strikes me.

Most of what I have written has been set down and let it come out naturally. I am hoping that over the course of this year I can refine my writing style and make my posts as meaningful and complete as I can.

So that is the readers digest of what this is. Very excited to be in this class.

Namaste

Rev J

Leave a Reply

