Day 28: Time

Spending a good portion of last week dealing with self care issues, a family tragedy, and in support of several friends that needed help, my attention and focus shifted. My attention came to the subject of time. We only get so many trips around the sun. people get sick, accidents happen, people grow old. Eventually we all check out. It’s just a matter of time.

So, here is the question for me. What am I doing with my time? What is it that I am accomplishing, working towards and celebrating? What am I leaving behind when I go? I think of greatness and legacy. I think at some time we all go there. Then I realized that perhaps I am looking at things the wrong way. I don’t have to a gigantic accomplishments to leave something behind. It sometimes takes simple steps.

My wife and I have raised three wonderful children as well as came to the rescue and support of several others. I have been a vital part of many people’s support systems. I have been a guide, a mentor, a teacher, and a minister. I have left a mark. I wasn’t the big fame game impact. It was simple gestures exactly when someone needed them to show up.

The next question is what do I want to do with the time that remains? I want to continue to have that impact on people, but I want that sphere to expand. I am not sure what that looks like at this moment, but I will find out.

We only get so many trips around the sun and today I am grateful for the time I have had, and the time I have remaining.

Today I am grateful for time.

Namaste

Rev J

Leave a Reply

